Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Question about cutting SS braided hose

Question about cutting SS braided hose

Does anyone have an easy way of cutting braided hose? I was thinking about using my chop saw after taping the end. Any other method that does not leave loose wires that are difficult to thread into the fittings? I have been using straight shears, but they are difficult to make the cuts. Bill

1971 Donzi 18' 2+3
    1985 Eliminator 23' Daytona Offshore - Kevlar hull
    1988 23' Donzi CC F-23 with 250HP EFI Mercury OB
    1989 28' Team Warlock Offshore - single 548CID/600HP
    1990 23' Warlock Offshore - single 525HP
    Bill from Denison, TX - Lake Texoma

Okay, I have zero experience here, just thinking out loud. I'm prepared for the laughing to start at any time.

For starters, is there any way better than just tape to fuse the woven metal in place without destroying what's underneath? A bit like you would with liquid rope whipping before cutting rope? Maybe mask a strip where you'll make the cut, then paint that with epoxy or something?

And/or use a bunch of tape for extra support when making the cut, insert a well-fitted dowel inside the hose, and then crank down some hose clamps immediately on the sides of the spot you'll cut? (To get the dowel in, you might need to do a rough cut with bolt cutters or something, then do a second, finished cut.)

And of course, cut with something very fine, like a high-speed grinding disc.

(Trying to think of anything that will help immobilize the woven metal, and pull on the individual strands as little as possible during the cutting process. What do the pros do, laser-cut it?)
    "I don't have time to get into it, but he went through a lot." -Pulp Fiction

You need to buy the "Braided hose" cutting tool. http://www.summitracing.com/parts/sum-900040.
    I used to use a die grinder w/carbide wheel - the snap-on thin ones with tape. Bought the cutting tool. Works great!