Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: No start

No start

Can't get the old girl started. Seems like I've checked everything for the loss of a spark. Have voltage to a brand new coil, have tried (2) brand new replacement electronic ignition modules. Finally checked the primary ignition cable from coil to distributor and there was no continuity, so I changed it and vroooom, it started and sounded very happy. This morning I went to start it and it's a no go.
    My 1969 16' still has the original 302 but with a converted "early 70's" era Mopar (go figure) electronic ignition. Thing is, I've been running with this for 20 years and it has been very very reliable.
    Only thing I can think to do at this point is to change the distributor with something like the Pertronix with internal electronics.
    Can anyone think of something else I might try? And, has anyone had experience with the Pertronix.

Thanks a lot for your opinion,

Dave
    DaveO.

mrfixxall Guest

Fixx

Quote Originally Posted by David Ochs View Post
    Can't get the old girl started. Seems like I've checked everything for the loss of a spark. Have voltage to a brand new coil, have tried (2) brand new replacement electronic ignition modules. Finally checked the primary ignition cable from coil to distributor and there was no continuity, so I changed it and vroooom, it started and sounded very happy. This morning I went to start it and it's a no go.
    My 1969 16' still has the original 302 but with a converted "early 70's" era Mopar (go figure) electronic ignition. Thing is, I've been running with this for 20 years and it has been very very reliable.
    Only thing I can think to do at this point is to change the distributor with something like the Pertronix with internal electronics.
    Can anyone think of something else I might try? And, has anyone had experience with the Pertronix.

Thanks a lot for your opinion,

Dave