Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Thru-hull hole/ port side/ '99 26ZX

Thru-hull hole/ port side/ '99 26ZX

Good Day and greetings to all who may read this,
    I am new to the registry and would like to express my appreciation for the wealth of knowledge and experience shared here. Thank you.
    I recently purchased an '88 Z21, only to come to two conclusions:
    1. I'm hooked, and ...
    2. I need a bigger Donzi, which immediately lead me to a 26ZX.
    My inquiry involves a small thru-hull, chrome-dressed, on the port side of the hull(bow), near water-level. I have no manual for the boat describing this, and it pours water out while on the trailer; obviously indicating its taking on water while at rest in the water or under way.
    Unless I'm missing something, it doesn't seem to be part of the bilge system, which seems to operate fine, via the thru-hull at the starboard stern.
    Any information on what this may be for, and the proper operation would give me a little more peace of mind next time I'm out on the water. Thanks again. tb

Im thinking your Ice box (storage) has a drain .. check your compartments..

Have fun with your new toy!!
    Matt

1987 22 Classic
    502mpi B1XR

From what i've seen, the ice box is in the rear under the rear seat, and seems to drain into the bilge. And by the way, enjoy is not the right words. That baby rips through these waters. Louisiana Gulf Coast. Perfect for some fast shrimping!!

Just guessing...but maybe stepped hulls require an added pump to clear water that can't freely flow to bilge area?

I will look into that. thanks

I don't know that boat, but I'll take a guess...

Since you said it was at the bow, does the boat have an anchor locker? If so, they are usually drained overboard through a fitting similar to what you described. it could be collecting rain water if the gasket is in poor shape that you're then seeing run out.

Just a guess...
    Don
    '01 22 Classic, 502/B1
    And a bunch of other stuff