Thread: 2002 Donzi C18 - scorpion

2002 Donzi C18 - scorpion

hi, this is my first post and i'm just learning my way around the site.

the reason i joined the registry is because i purchased a Donzi 18 classic about a month ago and i want to find out a little bit more about my boat.

i live in Toronto Ontario, have always wanted a Donzi, even visited the factory in the late 80's with my Dad. Anyway a few months ago i was bored and started looking at the local classified ads - Donzis aren't as popular here as in the US and there are rarley any for sale - but in late Oct there were two 18 classics for sale a couple of hours north of the city. one was a '99 and the other was an '02 with something called a scorpion engine package. i went and looked at both and ended up buying the '02 since it was in near perfect shape and had a lot of paperwork so i could trace it's history and knew it was always a local boat (fresh water, low hours etc). It was only a few thousand $ more and i had read a little bit on the mercury marine site about the scorpion motor and thought it was nice to have the upgrade as well. The guy i bought it from told me that the scorpion engine package was pretty rare - but i gather from reading up on old theads the past couple of days it is in fact quite rare.

Does anyone know anything more about Classic 18's with this engine package? Production numbers, how long they made them etc.
    And anything else that would be good for me to know.

Tx Adam

Welcome to the site, not that I am speaking for the site...

I had the 18 with a blue 377 Scorpion, learnt everything I know from people on this site...

PM or email me if you need info, I got my boat to high 70`s with their assistance....

good score

rarest 18 pkg. going

no windscreen is a plus

colors are great
    Charter Member - WAFNC, SBBR, KWOSG
    1955 Perfect Mate
    1986 Hornet III, 502-415 TRS

www.donzi.org

Welcome aboard!