Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Need Advice

Need Advice

I have found a 1976 Donzi "Sweet 16" (Baby 16?) that is for sale ... listed at $4500. While NADA.com lists the average retail of this boat at just under $900, there seems to have been a good deal of work done to this boat in the recent past.

The description says it has: "A NEW V8 ENGINE AND A 1983 GALVANIZED ROLLER TRAILER. THIS BOAT HAS BEEN BUILT FROM THE STRINGERS UP. tHE BOAT HAS NEW FUEL TANK, NEW WIRE HARNESS, REBUILT ALPHA ONE GEN TWO OUTDRIVE, NEW TRANSOM, BILGE PUMP, BLOWER, STEERING, CABLES, FRESH WATER FLUSH KIT. THE BOAT RUNS GREAT AND VERY FAST THE INTERIOR IS GOOD BUT NEEDS TO BE PAINTED TO FINISH OFF. THE BOAT IS EQUIPPED WITH AM/FM, FIRE EXSTING, FULL GAUGES, ANCHOR..."

Is $4500 a rip, or do the above items make this a price worth paying?

I am new to the idea of owning a Donzi, so any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

It's a deal . . .

buyer's market

On boats like Donzi classics NADA, Blue Book etc. are pretty useless. They seem to value Donzi like almost any other boat based on age.

If the boat has had all the work done (well/correctly) that is claimed, it could be worth in the neighborhood of $6,500+.

I paid $5,000 for a 1967 Ski-Sporter 16 that had none of those upgrades, 2 years ago.

It is very hard to put a dollar value on a boat without seeing it in person.
    “Oh right, because you walked into strippers discount warehouse and said ‘Help me showcase my intellect.’” - Archer

Bill
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    1985 Donzi Criterion SS
    1967 Donzi 16 Ski Sporter, C16-409, Has a new home!
    38' Carver Aft Cabin
    1968 Sea Ray SRV 180 w/1975 70 hp Evinrude
    10" RIB w/15 hp 1984 Evinrude

Thanks for the replies so far ...

I know photos would help, so here are the photos posted for the sale.

Is it?