Thread: water pump impeller help!

water pump impeller help!

first let me say im no mechanic. 454mpi 1999 few weeks ago water impeller went out, which was 2yrs old and i was about to replace. So i put new one in, put on hose ,work perfect! went to lake ran 20 miles no problem, next day no problem. Bring home ,put on hose, no water. So i change again, took oil cooler hose off thermostat housing and back flushed. put a new one in and ran on hose twice and all looked good. Ran yesterday about 30 miles, temp was the usuall 180 and ran great. Well just put on hose to flush and no water again! Any thoughts? the oilcooler strainer clogged is one friends guess? thanks!

How are you putting it on the hose"?
    There've been a number of examples of muffs not fitting properly.
    George Carter
    Central Florida
    gcarter763@aol.com
    http://kineticocentralfl.com/

“If you have to argue your science by using fraud, your science is not valid"
    Professor Ian Plimer, Adilaide and Melbourne Universities

the muffs that have the rod that goes thru the drive, seems like a tight fit! Have used them for yrs with no problem. george , what about oil cooler?

Quote Originally Posted by 22zxla View Post
    the muffs that have the rod that goes thru the drive, seems like a tight fit! Have used them for yrs with no problem. george , what about oil cooler?
    No way to know unless you check,
    but if it runs in the water but not on a hose, I would suspect the hose arrangement.
    You may have noticed many Classics have a transom mounted hose adapter. It utilizes an internal plastic check valve arrangement on the inside supply hose.
    This may be something to consider if the muffs prove to be problematic.
    George Carter
    Central Florida
    gcarter763@aol.com