Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: New donzi owner prop question

New donzi owner prop question

Hello everyone, I just recently purchaced my first Donzi, a 93 22c with a supercharged 454. The boat runs great I am just new to prop pitch size ect and had a few questions. The boat came with a stiletto 20323 23p prop. the boat has a OMC king cobra outdrive. Right now I am hitting around 70 mph at around 5500 rpm. Is this too small of a prop for this boat? I'm sure I could get 5-10 more MPH with more experiance with trim and tabs.
    Thanks in advance for the help .

the OMC KC has a gear ratio of 1.43 to 1. At 5500 RPM and assuming a 10% slip (may be a high assumption) you should see 75+. If slip is lower, then you should be closer to 80. Do you have a guess at actual horse power?

If the engine is tuned properly, then you need to trim it up more. And yes, you do need more pitch. I would think max RPMs should be in the 5200 to 5300 range once propped correctly.
    RedDog

President - West Vestal Donzi Owner's Group
    Knoxville, TN

what super do you have. a stock 454 runs that size prop.
    Randy owner of Donzis since 1966
    High Performance props 3, 4, and 5 blade. Turbo and Stainless Steel props. Props for old Volvo drives.
    The reason congressmen try so hard to get re-elected is that they would hate to have to make a living under the laws they've passed.

PS - Catch 22s Procharged 454 with a Bravo I (and shorty drive) runs low 90s
    RedDog

President - West Vestal Donzi Owner's Group
    Knoxville, TN

The SC is a B&M. I am real new to prop pitches but I felt like the rpms should be lower. previous owner guesstimaded power to be around 500 or so. The boat runs great just seems to spin a little high. what would be the optimum rpm at WOT?

Catch22 has a labbed 31 hydromotive and a throttle up CNC 30. I am procharged with OXP28, and a TXP 29/ or #) depending on the day. Speed is not an issue.to be discussed.