Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: props/speed

props/speed

I am new to this world. Bought my 18 classic about 2 months ago and love it. I already know after reading forums a general consensus of thru hull exhaust so I will save that question. Basically my 2 questions are 1)what is the best prop for overall speed/fuel efficiency/control? I am running 21p 4 blade prop right now and it seems like top end it is rev'd out. GPS at 56mph 2) i noticed after finally getting comfortable with the sheer performance of boat pretty much after 3/4 throttle it feels actually slower as if it is bogging or almost just over spinning if that makes sense.
    I have read through alot of posts for last week but didnt really find my answers. Thank you

What engine do you have? 56 sounds way low regardless.
    Dan

How many RPM?
    WTF, Over.....WTF, 10-4.....

I have a 5.7 FI Chevy vortec. Its a nice motor. Like I said its usually 4200-4300 and 3/4 throttle. When i have gone full it seems to rev up but not do much more almost like it is overspinning. But I usually have my wife wit me and the St Johns river is kinda ripply. So maybe I need to go out without the wife and with a little more testosterone and see what it can do. It is def a different world at 55 in the 18 and even 85 in the car. But any suggestions will be appreciated. I guess I will go out on a flat day this week and trim it out a little more and hope for the best but i have been told a 3 blade 23p prop would be a difference on speed and rpms? Im very sure it will do more than 56, cause the motor is quite and it seems to have alot of hidden power just waiting.

as if it means anything the current prop measures 14" and is marked 48-825904A45-21P any recommendations on switching?

Cool