Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: A question about paypal

A question about paypal

How do I know for certain that I'm in the "real" paypal site?

Bear with me if this seems like a stupid question. I'm new to it and just sold something on ebay that allowed a paypal payment to my account. Now I'm not sure what I'm doing. It seems weird that I only enter my e-mail address and then a password. Shouldn't it ask for a certificate or something?

For those that have accepted payments through A Paypal account, what should it look like. And do you get an email requesting that you accept payment.

That's all it asks for...I think. But I would go to the paypal link within ebay. In other words sign into ebay then there should be a button for paypal there and it would ask again for your name and password. That way at least you have a double-layer of security...I guess.

Then log-in separately outside of ebay to your paypal account and verify that the correct transaction is on your log.

Thanks, that sounds like a better plan. I'll at least know I'm in side ebay first.

I do feel a little stupid now since I didn't know you had to "upgrade" in order to accept certain forms of payment. I don't recall reading that when I signed up.

A word of caution...be on the look out for "e-mails" that have the paypal or ebay logo and look like the real thing giving you a link to click on to "update" your account...if you do you could loose a lot of money in a hurry
    cubic inches = power
    power = speed
    speed = FUN

Ditto on what smootie said, you should get a receipt in the mail shortly. I am new to Pay Pal also but have done a few transactions and have not needed to check my account due to the mail notification.

Phil
    No matter what your beliefs are "GOD BLESS AMERICA"

Fully retired marine tech near 60 years in the biz.