PDA

View Full Version : 502 short block purchase

Jamesbon
05-16-2001, 03:18 PM
Fellas,
Is $1250.00 a fair price for a used Mark VI (6) 502 block, crank, and 7/16 dimple rods? Also, is a Mark VI a 1996 or newer block? It's out of a truck and will be magnafluxed prior to me buying. I have to make a decision by tomorrow AM, the guy has another buyer.....

CDMA
05-16-2001, 03:40 PM
Nate doesn't sound to bad...

Chris

What about all the other marine parts...those will kill you. Might be better with complete marine engine and then build a shortblock.

Chris

Bryan Tuvell
05-16-2001, 03:51 PM
I am no expert on engines, but since I think I blew one I was curious as to whit it is costing my warranty... a 502 was in the 13K range.
http://www.outdrives.com/merc/mengines02.html

Here is the link, just trying to help in case it is off base.
Bryan

[This message has been edited by Bryan Tuvell (edited 05-16-2001).]

Jamesbon
05-16-2001, 04:04 PM
Thanks Fellas.

I really can't fork out 10-13K for a complete unit. I've always "pieced" them together for much less $$. I figure I can sell my small block stainless marine manifolds which will help fund a set of BB manifolds. Then buy a BB heat exchanger, use my old raw water pump. Find some merc pulleys and power steering pump. I have spare alternators, starters, distributors and so on. I also have a line on a pair of Brodix/Inconal aluminum heads for $1500.00. On top of all that, I'd sell my 388 which would help as well.

WHEW! If I was ever satisfied with what I had, I wouldn't go through all this stuff. Wish I liked SLOW boats http://www.donzi.net/ubb/wink.gif

CDMA
05-16-2001, 04:47 PM
Nate,

If you go ahead lets talk about the stainless marine mainifolds. I also have a line on a few sets of CMI big tube headers that you might be interested in.

Chris

BigGrizzly
05-16-2001, 04:58 PM