PDA

View Full Version : fresh water cooling systems

Moody Blu'
08-08-2001, 04:28 PM
I know alot of you guys have started to brush off my questions, because I ask so many.
what do you want from me, I am trying to get answers.

I need help!!!
serious help!!
my boat keeps getting real close to overheating and I am sick of wondering if it is sea weed or the likes.
I asked a while ago about fresh water cooling systems, and what they consisted of.
I got a few replies but no one really explained it to me.

can someone point me in the right direction on buying a fresh water cooled system I would love to fully cool the wole engine with it (headers included) I need some peice of mind and a fwc would give me that. I just dont know jack about them and need some advice. after all I am the one that will be installing it.

here are my specs.
ford 351w, glenwood headers (log style)
I have a jabsco crank shaft pump but it leaks a little by the seals, I guess I could use that as a heat exchanger coolng pump?

Hurry!!
I need the kit by the weekend,the first annual club meeting is at the waters edge this sunday at 11am, I want to be able to get there without cooking my engine!!!
thanks in adavanced!!

Scott Pearson
08-08-2001, 06:35 PM
Blu,
What makes you think that if you put a cooling system on your boat that it will cure your problem? If its getting hot now then I'm suer it will get even hotter with a cooling system. I would look into the problem more. Sounds like something isn't preforming right. I read your other posts and it sounds like your baot get very hot very quick. Could be an internal problem.

My 68 never gets above 150.

(NJ)Scott

Moody Blu'
08-08-2001, 08:36 PM
hey does anyone know if running an engine with a lot of retard in the ignition would make it run hot???

I put my 750cfm cabr back on the boat today, I returned the jetting back to base calibration and went as rich as I could go on the secondary (to get the rpms up)
it ran awesome.