PDA

View Full Version : GPS Chartplotters knobs or Touchscreen



mphatc
07-10-2016, 02:03 PM
Folks,

It's been a while since I've posted here . . . I've been lurking since I sold the Corsican . . :confused:

I'm now running a Magnum 27 and am shopping for a chartplotter. Curious from those of you who have these on smaller boats, how easy is it to use the touchscreen units on a boat that gives you an exciting ride . . are you better able to use a knob controlled unit or a touchscreen?

Thank you,
Mario L.

Ghost
07-10-2016, 04:56 PM
Pure touchscreen is a bad idea. I have a SIMRAD that has both touchscreen plus a few buttons and the all-important zoom knob. I would NEVER get one without a zoom knob.

Carl C
07-10-2016, 05:53 PM
I have zoom buttons. :)

Escman
07-12-2016, 06:46 PM
Folks,

It's been a while since I've posted here . . . I've been lurking since I sold the Corsican . . :confused:

I'm now running a Magnum 27 and am shopping for a chartplotter. Curious from those of you who have these on smaller boats, how easy is it to use the touchscreen units on a boat that gives you an exciting ride . . are you better able to use a knob controlled unit or a touchscreen?

Thank you,
Mario L.

If interested I have a brand new Simrad NSS7EVO2 unused and in the box. I purchased it by accident and could not use it because my depth sender would not connect to the unit. It has never been powered up. I listed it on Ebay a couple of times and all I ended up with was bottom feeders and unsold charges. I paid 1150 for it, first 950 takes it.

Ghost
07-12-2016, 06:55 PM
If interested I have a brand new Simrad NSS7EVO2 unused and in the box. I purchased it by accident and could not use it because my depth sender would not connect to the unit. It has never been powered up. I listed it on Ebay a couple of times and all I ended up with was bottom feeders and unsold charges. I paid 1150 for it, first 950 takes it.

If you (or a buyer) buys a an Airmar P79 transducer, you can probably mount it in the hull in 30 minutes. Raymarine, Simrad and Garmin all use the P79. If you call Airmar, you can buy it with a generic fitting, and get the adapter for Simrad. Then you can swap plotter brands down the road and use the same transducer, just with a different adapter.

Worth reading the install guide before buying, to make sure your hull has a proper non-cored spot to mount it. Not sure about coring in the classics. You could always do a hull mod, but that's real work.

Escman
07-12-2016, 07:11 PM
If you (or a buyer) buys a an Airmar P79 transducer, you can probably mount it in the hull in 30 minutes. Raymarine, Simrad and Garmin all use the P79. If you call Airmar, you can buy it with a generic fitting, and get the adapter for Simrad. Then you can swap plotter brands down the road and use the same transducer, just with a different adapter.

Worth reading the install guide before buying, to make sure your hull has a proper non-cored spot to mount it. Not sure about coring in the classics. You could always do a hull mod, but that's real work.

I solved the problem by buying the same unit with the port for the for the transducer. It was hardly the most inexpensive way of solving the problem, but thats what happens when you get the wrong advice from a vendor. Compounding the problem is I plan all these things to do/install while in NY, then drive down to Tenn. and then discover whats not compatible. Bottom line is it's done and working beautifully. Now to find a home for the non compatible unit.

Ghost
07-12-2016, 08:56 PM
Ahh, gotcha. Should sell quickly--I have a Simrad and love them. Someone here would do well to snatch it up.