PDA

View Full Version : V drive disassembly questions

Cracker box
06-11-2015, 04:58 AM
I am going to pick up a Donzi 18 v-drive soon ( very excited).
I only got a trailer equiped with rollers now so i will need to disable at least the rudder, and the propeller shaft.
There is no engine in the boat so i will probably be able to set it enough backward on the trailer not to be annoyed by the propeller shaft bracket, i think.

Boat is far from home and i don't want to spend days there so i'm preparing everything.
I've no experience yet in v-drives or direct-drives

The rudder
I think there are bolts which hold a circulaire plate on the top of the rudder female housing. Once removed, i will have access to a single main bolt that couple a "tiller" from the steering mechanism to the rudder axle.
When this main bolt is removed, is the rudder ready to be come down to the ground ?

The propeller shaft
Is the shaft coupled with a sleeve type coupling or a flange type ?
Once the coupling removed and the stuffing box loosen, is the shaft ready to be slid down trough the stuffing box housing and the shaft bracket ?
Is it better to keep propeller on the shaft to have more pulling force ? Is it posssible by hand or with a hammer from this inside ?
Is it the way to remove the shaft ?

Sorry for those questions that might be evident but not so easy when you don't have the parts in front of you and you never did it before.

Thanks for reading my "Belgian" english.

Cracker box
06-11-2015, 04:59 AM
Oops ? What happened to the text ?

Cracker box
06-11-2015, 05:11 AM
I am going to pick up a 18 v-drive soon
I only got a trailer equiped with rollers now so i will need to disable at least the rudder, and the propeller shaft.
There is no engine in the boat so i will be able to set it enough backward on the trailer not to be annoyed by the propeller shaft bracket i think.

Boat is far from home and i don't want to spend days there so i'm preparing everything.