PDA

View Full Version : TRS trim limit switch thru transom wiring



FUELPOWERED
08-04-2014, 08:32 AM
On my 1985 2 plus 3 MCM 330 TRS the trim limit switch wires that pass through the transom turned to dust when I touched them. Is this a normal occurrence? I'm sure the remedy ain't gonna be no fun

gcarter
08-04-2014, 10:07 AM
On my 1985 2 plus 3 MCM 330 TRS the trim limit switch wires that pass through the transom turned to dust when I touched them. Is this a normal occurrence? I'm sure the remedy ain't gonna be no fun

Those exposed wiring harnesses do decay at some point. The sad thing is the bell housing has to be removed to replace the harness.

FUELPOWERED
08-04-2014, 12:23 PM
Thanks for the reply George. If the motor has to be shifted/removed for this fix and the transom and stringers turn out to be structurally sound I will be looking for a 370 or a 400 cyclone drop in.

gcarter
08-04-2014, 12:32 PM
Thanks for the reply George. If the motor has to be shifted/removed for this fix and the transom and stringers turn out to be structurally sound I will be looking for a 370 or a 400 cyclone drop in.

Actually, the engine can stay in. Just remove the drive and then the bell housing (the ball shaped thing the drive bolts to). There're some bolts that are really tight. A manual is a handy thing to have.

FUELPOWERED
08-05-2014, 07:49 AM
I do have the service manual it will be an off season project thank you