PDA

View Full Version : Care and Cleaning of Your Boat's Vinyl

Tidbart
01-23-2014, 11:30 AM
Due to Carl C's issue with his vinyl seating, I put together an informal reference list of products to use and not to use on your vinyl seats and upholstery.

This list is not complete and I can add or change it at any time. If you disagree, let me know.

The data has mainly come from marine upholstery shop websites, some manufacturers sites, and some personal experiences. Keep in mind, this is just for future reference and just because someone has used a product with some success doesn't mean it is necessarily a good idea moving forward. :biggrin.:

Also, I am no expert in this field, so don't shoot the messenger.

Bob

USE
303 Fabric and Vinyl Cleaner
303® Aerospace Protectant
Mild dish soaps…Ivory, Dawn
Fantastic
Amazing Bio-Kleen
Starbrite Marine Vinyl Treatment
1T. ammonia, ¼ C. hydrogen peroxide, ¾ C. of water for mildew or stains from leaves
3M Marine Vinyl Cleaner & Restorer
3M Marine Outdoor Vinyl Cleaner, Protector, and Conditioner
Attwood 16oz Vinyl Cleaner and Polish
Mothers® Marine Vinyl & Rubber Care
Marine 31 Products…All Purpose Cleaner, Vinyl Cleaner, Conditioner, or Protectant
Starbrite Vinyl Products.... Shampoo, Protectant, Polish & Restorer
Tuff Stuff Foam Cleaner
Sprayway 990 Vinyl and Leather Cleaner

Don’t Use
Goo Gone
Formula 409
Murphy’s Oil Soap
Simple Green
Magic Eraser
ArmorAll
Top Kote Sealant
Son of a Gun
Orange 88 Degreaser
Amazing Roll-off
Bleach or Bleach/baking soda
Turtle Wax/Tar Remover
APCO
Harbor Mate
Kerosene
Gasoline
Acetone
Silicone or Petroleum based chemicals or wipes
Automotive vinyl treatments with silicone
DC Plus

Conquistador_del_mar
01-23-2014, 12:22 PM
For what it is worth, I have used Simple Green for years with nothing but positive results. Why was it included in the don't use list? Bill

Tidbart
01-23-2014, 01:50 PM