PDA

View Full Version : Looking for some more speed.

02RedWS6TA
07-22-2013, 11:20 AM
Hi,

New to Donzi's here and picked up a Classic 18 a month or so ago and have been reading the forums ever since. Finally signed up yesterday and thought I'd ask about my plan. Currently the boat supposedly has a new merc 260 in it with a quicksilver 21p prop. It's running 58 at 4200rpm's full of fuel and two people/gear. I'd like to see 65+... (It actually only went 57 with a half tank with the quicksilver, 58 full with a generic aluminum 3 blade 21p prop) It's an Alpha 1 1.5 gear ratio.

Plan will have to be done in stages but any advice is helpful as I'm new to these. Looking to stay under 1500 in parts other than the prop itself.

Step 1: Turbo TXP or FXP prop in 23p
Step 2: Edelbrock 600CFM Marine carb
Step 3: Vortec heads, performer intake, and an undecided cam choice.

http://www.lstwo.com/images/75841468739080594054.jpg

biggiefl
07-22-2013, 11:59 AM
You are going in the wrong direction. 1) your redline is closer to 5k so try a 19 SS prop or see why you are only running 4200(timing, carb setup, etc.) Second a carb is not going to add speed. You match a carb to what the engine requires. 3) This is not a car. You can't just drop automotive parts on it and think it will gain hp or anything else. Marine is a whole different ballgame and the wrong selection of add-ons will only gain you a shattered engine or worse.

02RedWS6TA
07-22-2013, 01:23 PM
You are going in the wrong direction. 1) your redline is closer to 5k so try a 19 SS prop or see why you are only running 4200(timing, carb setup, etc.) Second a carb is not going to add speed. You match a carb to what the engine requires. 3) This is not a car. You can't just drop automotive parts on it and think it will gain hp or anything else. Marine is a whole different ballgame and the wrong selection of add-ons will only gain you a shattered engine or worse.