PDA

View Full Version : BBF Engine Build - Help

Swath
07-14-2013, 05:05 PM
Victim of a water pump failure!! Got the call Friday from the machine shop that the block has a bad crack and the heads are toast so it's time to start over.

I need some help as I've never built a marine engine before. I know it's a different engine than a street engine, needs to make all it's torque in the low range to 5K rpm but could use the groups input on blocks, heads and such.

Boat is a 1990 22' Classic with a King Cobra drive (hump). Old motor was a BBF 460 that was suppose to be a performance engine (previous owner paid $15K for it but got taken, when I tore it apart is was nothing special). Looking for 80MPH and as indestructible as possible. I'm on Georgian Bay so fresh water and good waves.

Looking for something in the 600HP range when complete. I'll reuse the carb (new 850 Barry Grant Demon carb last year), Edlebrock RPM intake and aluminum GLM exhaust with stainless risers.

For the new block I'm thinking an Eliminator Sportsman with 4 bolt mains. Planning to go to 532 cubic inches so bored 30 over. I know the block is overkill and I could use a stock block but I want to do this right.

For the internals I'm thinking the SCAT 4340 forged crank, SCAT forged H beam connecting rods, premium forged dished pistons.

For the heads I'm considering Flow Pro stage 3 CNC ported aluminum heads, 95cc (will give me 8.6:1 compression) with 2.19 S.S. Intake and 1.71 S.S. exhausts.

I have not figured out what cam would be right for this set up. Suggestions? Also not clear on what lifters should be used.

Anyone have suggestions? If anyone has built a similar engine I'd like to know what you used and if you're happy with it.

Oh and I'm not chancing to a BBC or a Merc drive!!!

JayZ
07-15-2013, 09:26 AM