PDA

View Full Version : Looking for my first boat!

wetcoast
04-12-2013, 04:15 PM
Hi All,
Great forum you all have going here. I've been around boats my entire life and feel like I can finally afford to have one. I've been browsing for a few years now and have looked at Baja's etc but am stuck on the Classic 22 or 18.

Without going through every thread with a fine tooth comb I was hoping someone or a few of you could provide a few buying tips as to what to look for, preferred years, preferred power, etc.

Ultimately I just want to get out on the water at cruise with a few friends and be capable of 70+ MPH with room to make it quicker down the road.

Thanks in advance,
Chris

gcarter
04-12-2013, 04:54 PM
Buy the best boat you can afford, when looking at 22C's, look for later than '94.

biggiefl
04-12-2013, 10:44 PM
Uh...1994 and newer....George.

Just Say N20
04-12-2013, 11:13 PM
I don’t know where you would be boating, but this boat is already “nearer” your neck of the woods.

I would be very tempted to look at this one.

I don’t know the owner, or the boat, but for $8K, it looks like a very good deal.

http://www.donzi.net/forums/showthread.php?68614-1987-Donzi-2-3-Classic-18-8-000

joseph m. hahnl
04-13-2013, 06:30 AM
I don’t know where you would be boating, but this boat is already “nearer” your neck of the woods.

I would be very tempted to look at this one.

I don’t know the owner, or the boat, but for $8K, it looks like a very good deal.

http://www.donzi.net/forums/showthread.php?68614-1987-Donzi-2-3-Classic-18-8-000

"I'd say" :eek:, Almost like it's a scam. The 330 hp 5.7 Alpha SS is pretty max :chilipepp: .It doesn't leave much more room for improvement,with out using a chain fall . A stroker would help but 22's need big block power to get them easily over 65.

That is a double :toiletpap set up , on the seat time,especially as a first boat:D .
Might have to budget a new Built-Rite drivers bucket :drive:

gcarter
04-13-2013, 09:50 AM