PDA

View Full Version : Question about cutting SS braided hose

Conquistador_del_mar
11-30-2012, 01:27 PM
Does anyone have an easy way of cutting braided hose? I was thinking about using my chop saw after taping the end. Any other method that does not leave loose wires that are difficult to thread into the fittings? I have been using straight shears, but they are difficult to make the cuts. Bill

Ghost
11-30-2012, 01:52 PM
Okay, I have zero experience here, just thinking out loud. I'm prepared for the laughing to start at any time.

For starters, is there any way better than just tape to fuse the woven metal in place without destroying what's underneath? A bit like you would with liquid rope whipping before cutting rope? Maybe mask a strip where you'll make the cut, then paint that with epoxy or something?

And/or use a bunch of tape for extra support when making the cut, insert a well-fitted dowel inside the hose, and then crank down some hose clamps immediately on the sides of the spot you'll cut? (To get the dowel in, you might need to do a rough cut with bolt cutters or something, then do a second, finished cut.)

And of course, cut with something very fine, like a high-speed grinding disc.

(Trying to think of anything that will help immobilize the woven metal, and pull on the individual strands as little as possible during the cutting process. What do the pros do, laser-cut it?)

SamIam
11-30-2012, 02:01 PM
You need to buy the "Braided hose" cutting tool. http://www.summitracing.com/parts/sum-900040.
I used to use a die grinder w/carbide wheel - the snap-on thin ones with tape. Bought the cutting tool. Works great!

justleft
11-30-2012, 02:20 PM
I use a band saw with a very fine toothed metal blade. It must be sharp to keep from grabbing braid.
I like to wrap the ss braid in fiber tape (strapping tape).

But your going to poke your fingers a dozen time anyways. :tooth:

Shooter
11-30-2012, 02:33 PM