PDA

View Full Version : Re-Power a 1972 HM302/VP270 Ski Sporter 16

72Sweet16
02-16-2012, 07:05 PM
Hello All ... I've been reading here on the forum for a while, but this is my first post (and forgive me for it getting pretty long).

I am the second owner of a 1972 16, which I acquired during the summer of 1973 - needless to say I've had many, many, many years of enjoyment and memories with this fabulous little boat. It has spent its entire life exclusively in fresh water in the lakes and rivers of north Alabama and Georgia and has never presented any major issues.

However, now is the time when I skip the long sob story about the "friend" who returned it to me one fall and failed to winterize it. That pretty well brings us to the present - frozen/cracked block. I wish I could say I have tons of money and could just "drop in a new crate motor" . . . reality is I will have to either find a core and re-build or try and source a re-man.

A must also admit that I am no mechanic and am not qualified to do the work personally; my only wrenching experience is on Harleys. Most of my buddies that will be volunteering on the project are HD or automotive guys - no marine expertise among us. Any help/suggestions you guys can throw my way will be greatly appreciated - I certainly want to try and avoid as many "gotcha's" as I can.

So ... what would you guys do in my situation?

Thanks in advance . . .

Gary S
02-18-2012, 08:56 AM