PDA

View Full Version : Who Owns That White/Red Donzi 18 on Lake Lanier?

Ron in Atlanta
10-10-2011, 07:41 AM
We were out sailboat racing Saturday and caught a glimpse of an 18 going by.

As my new boat, a white/red trim Sweet 16 looks very similar and since I am new to this Donzi family, I would love to exchange info on engine builder, source for parts/accessories, etc. Send me an e-mail rongoldfarb@earthlink.net

And yes, I said sailboat racing. Prior to buying the Donzi, I thought 6 knots on the water was FAST. I expect that is about to change, new boat goes in the water this coming weekend.68205

jl1962
10-10-2011, 12:22 PM
Hi Ron and welcome.

As one sailboat racer to another, you are NOT alone - just very much in the minority! And remember "fast" is all relative!
;)

Congrats on the Donzi, I expect several people on Lake Lanier will chime in.

BTW - what are you sailing? Looks like an old MORC 30' I used to sail on. Breeze on!

Offset
10-10-2011, 12:27 PM
I think you should bail out of that one, it looks like it is going to fall over!!!:nilly:

Ron in Atlanta
10-10-2011, 01:14 PM
[ QUOTE=$originalposter]{$pagetext}[/QUOTE]

Good eye, it is a MORC boat, specifically, a Pinacle 30. There were only 6 or so made in the late 80's. Huge rig, very technical to sail but when you get all the gears figured out, almost unbeatable.

gcarter
10-10-2011, 01:27 PM
So, what do you do when you don't have seven or eight friends to go out w/you?

A very good friend of mine lives on a canal in Cudjo Key near Key West.
Several years ago I took my Minx down and visited him. When we got out of the canal and out into the Atlantic, he was very frustrated and told me that we had, in about five minutes, gone farther than he would have in over an hour!

jl1962
10-10-2011, 01:39 PM
[ QUOTE=$originalposter]{$pagetext}[/QUOTE]

Yup. Pinacle 30, Adhara 30 - Doug Peterson boats.