PDA

View Full Version : first ride new minx

jeffdds
08-19-2011, 09:36 PM
Joe ( Margo here on the forums ) delivered his reluctantly sold 86 Minx to me in NJ on thursday, I took the afternoon off to meet him at the marina for the arrival . The exchange went smoothly , we got the boat in the water, Joe went over a few of the particulars with me , and then he and bro in law Vic hopped into the f350 and headed back for upstate NY ... leaving me alone with my shiny new boat ... It was at that moment that my veteran boater friend texted me to say he was in a jam at work and probably wouldnt be able to make it to the marina till after 6 pm. It was one oclock. So my first three hours with my new boat were spent at the marina sitting on it listening to music, answering questions about it to all the people I met at my new marina , and texting pics of it parked in the slip to all my friends . Im new to boating, this boat, and this lake so there was no way I was going out for the first time alone ...4 pm... bingo & thank goodness another friend showed up , I contracted him to get the trailer out of the marina and into my yard for me cause I dont have a trailer hitch on my SUV yet and he has one on his van . He came right from work , hallelujah I thought , an angel has arrived in the form of a wingman . I ll cut to the chase, the first ride was amazing , I loved it . I have nothing to compare it to, the last time I was on a donzi was 27 years ago, and no one I know has a boat like this but to me it rides awesome, handles great, super steering etc, everything I expected and more. Only thing I cant tell you is how fast I got it going cause the speedo doesnt seem to be working and I havent had a chance to call Joe and ask him about that yet but I was generally running it around 3500 to 4500 rpms and loving every minute of it . The ride ended with a few laughs as I struggled back into the slip . I made it but with alot of maneuvering and I was joking to some onlookers to be patien