PDA

View Full Version : 69 Formula Jr.

mcarrabino
08-03-2011, 08:58 AM
Hello,
I am new to Donzi and to Donzi Registry. I bought what I thought was a Donzi 16 and found out that it is likely a Formula Jr. Does anyone know how I can find out what the approximate value and exact year this boat is?
Thanks,
Mike

jl1962
08-03-2011, 02:45 PM
More pictures would help, but the short answer is: Probably Less Than You Think.....

Classic 'Glas (and this definitely IS a classic boat) really only gets a fraction of the respect that mahogany does. And the boat market in general is very weak.

As far as comps go, there aren't many/any. The very nice (IMO) blue Jr that was for sale here about a year ago sold for high single digits (last asking price I remember was 8K or 9K?).

That said we are probably at rock bottom for the vintage glass market.

My advice would be to use the boat, enjoy the boat, learn more about what you have. Restore it as you see fit.

Use the search function here, join Antique and Classic Boat Society (nice mention in their current quarterly newsletter on the future collectibility of the Donzi 16 BTW). Another cool site is www.Fiberglassics.com (http://www.Fiberglassics.com) .

silverghost
08-03-2011, 03:50 PM
I agree with the above post .

That fully restored Blue Formula Jr was a real sweetheart !
The former owner who was tragically injured had pumped tens of thousands $$$ into that great project ~~
And it sure looked like it.

When it finally sold it went for just a small fraction of what the prior owner had put in her restoration.

Classic Fiberglass speedboats have not as yet become highly sought after collectables like the earlier mahogany speedboats, or musclecars.

Will these early fiberglass speedboat's values change in the near future ?
Who really knows for sure ?
We need a crystal ball to see if this will ever happen.
I, for one, suspect it will~~~
Some day ?

silverghost
08-03-2011, 04:17 PM