PDA

View Full Version : No start

David Ochs
07-14-2011, 08:02 PM
Can't get the old girl started. Seems like I've checked everything for the loss of a spark. Have voltage to a brand new coil, have tried (2) brand new replacement electronic ignition modules. Finally checked the primary ignition cable from coil to distributor and there was no continuity, so I changed it and vroooom, it started and sounded very happy. This morning I went to start it and it's a no go.
My 1969 16' still has the original 302 but with a converted "early 70's" era Mopar (go figure) electronic ignition. Thing is, I've been running with this for 20 years and it has been very very reliable.
Only thing I can think to do at this point is to change the distributor with something like the Pertronix with internal electronics.
Can anyone think of something else I might try? And, has anyone had experience with the Pertronix.

Thanks a lot for your opinion,

Dave

mrfixxall
07-14-2011, 09:02 PM
Can't get the old girl started. Seems like I've checked everything for the loss of a spark. Have voltage to a brand new coil, have tried (2) brand new replacement electronic ignition modules. Finally checked the primary ignition cable from coil to distributor and there was no continuity, so I changed it and vroooom, it started and sounded very happy. This morning I went to start it and it's a no go.
My 1969 16' still has the original 302 but with a converted "early 70's" era Mopar (go figure) electronic ignition. Thing is, I've been running with this for 20 years and it has been very very reliable.
Only thing I can think to do at this point is to change the distributor with something like the Pertronix with internal electronics.
Can anyone think of something else I might try? And, has anyone had experience with the Pertronix.

Thanks a lot for your opinion,

Dave

first make sure the ignition switch is getting power in crank mode,if it is then try running a gtound wire to the base of the dist..

David Ochs