PDA

View Full Version : new guy.....1st dumb question, of course.

theteacher
06-27-2011, 01:24 PM
Sold my last boat ( Carerra Caliente ) when our handicapped daughter was born in 2000. She passed away 4 years ago and we are looking at another boat. I've always liked the Donzi brand and need to ask the value of 1 that I have an eye on.
It's a 1998 Sweet 16, and get this, it has NEVER been put in the water. The man won it back in December of 1997 and never got it wet.
So, what's it worth, any idea? Has the 4.3 and the questions I have are: what all went bad in the last 14 years, hoses, gaskets, seals, something else I'm not aware of, I'm not a mechanic. Is it worth alot or a little. It's quite a distance from me and all I have is his word that it is perfect, but I don't want to drive 6 hours 1 way and be surprised. I'mk sure 14 year old trailer tires aren't very safe, are they? What else?
Any and all help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks !

Carl C
06-27-2011, 01:34 PM
I'm sorry about the loss of your child, even if it was 4 years ago. A 1998 model never used. Wow. Was it stored indoors? If so the hull and finish should be perfect. The bad news is that IMO it will need a lot more work than a boat that has been used regularly. Tires, engine & drive rebuild. Lots of seals that could be dried out. There are people here that know a lot more than I about this kind of thing. This should be an interesting thread. Oh, and welcome to Donzi.net.

jl1962
06-27-2011, 01:35 PM
After 14 years, find a Merc dealer to check it out. And yes the tires are probably iffy.

I can't make the case that it's worth anymore than a gently used, properly maintained boat of the same vintage that might be several honest points under mint condition. A really nice 5.0 MPI 2004 16 was just on eBay for 15K w/ under 100 hours.

Your boat sounds like a cool find but only worth 8 - 10K if it checks out.

My .02

BUIZILLA
06-27-2011, 01:47 PM
11-12k

VetteLT193
06-27-2011, 02:11 PM