PDA

View Full Version : Donzi 7 Meter

Damhnaic
06-15-2011, 06:03 PM
Hello all..I'm new to the greatness that is a classic Donzi and have interest in a 1970 7 Meter that is for sale locally. The owner says it was re powered with twin 350's and Merc alpha 1 outdrives from a Scarrab. I have seen the boat out of the water and she is a beaut. He custom built a t-top for it and a few other restoration items like new carpet lining the cabin and new upholstery. I can find very little information about this or any 7 Meter and was wondering if yall could inform this noob a bit on what the quality of this model boat is.

Damhnaic
06-16-2011, 08:12 PM
Bump for some help on this 7 Meter.

silverghost
06-16-2011, 08:37 PM
Sadly there seems to be very little collector interest in the 7 meter on the Donzi websites.
It seems to be a footnote here in Donzi boat history.
Most here are interested in the Donzi speedboats.
The 7 meter is more of a small family cruiser.
Few here own, or have ever actually seen one in person.
Try searching for info on it from past threads & posts above in the forum search area.

Ghost
06-16-2011, 08:41 PM
I can't address quality of build. I would expect no big departure from any Donzi of that vintage.

What I can tell you is the Nova Marine 24 I have is an Allen Brown/Dick Cole creation that is probably as close to the 7 Meter as anything. Same hull below the rubrail, just stretched a little and built with v-drive inboards rather than outdrives.

The hull is a wave crusher. Or perhaps wave slicer and crusher. One of the best riding rough water boats I've ever been in. Probably as deep a V as you could get away with. 25.7 degrees I think. The sterndrive setup in the Donzi will give it more speed and efficiency than mine.