PDA

View Full Version : handling

thickone71
05-19-2011, 10:18 AM

I just bought a donzi sweet sixteen , it has a 351 windsor with a berkley jet drive . at high speed it wants to turn on its own . its has a place diverter for trim adjustment . wondering if i should put a fin on the hull maybe it would stop it from wanting to turn on its own . its a hand full to operate at high speed . can anybody help. also wondering if anybody knows what year it is there is no id tag on the boat.

yeller
05-19-2011, 06:26 PM
I had a 16C with a jet and it handled like a dream. Never experienced what you are mentioning, but mine wasn't an actual Donzi. It was a copy. It is possible yours is a copy also, because I'm not sure if Donzi ever put a jet on a 16.
I'm no expert on the history, so I could easily be wrong about Donzi and jets.

Post some pics of the boat, engine and drive. It will make it easier for people here to help you identify it.

silverghost
05-19-2011, 07:52 PM
Donzi did indeed build Jet-drive 16s in the early to mid 1970s.
There was a yellow 16 Donzi /Berkeley Jet pack in Ocean City NJ around 1973-75.
I last saw it for sale in a south Jersey boatyard about seven years ago.
It was in very sad shape at that time.

As many also know my family owned a Donzi X-18 Olds 455 / Berkeley jet-pack that was bought new in 1972 at the big Philly boat show.
We owned that X-18 for five seasons.
I loved that boat.

We never had any steering torque-steer issues with our X-18 waterJet.
Ours rode like it was on rails.

Exactly what is your steering issue ?
Does it pull to one side all the time ?
OR~
Only if you release the steering wheel ?
There is a great aftermarket service manual available out there for these jet-drives.
I have one~ as well as an original Berkeley service manual.

Call me if you have any jet- drive questons~~~
We should be able to sort any issues you have on these jet-drives.

You have a rare boat there IF it is a real jet Donzi 16 & not a splash clone copy.