PDA

View Full Version : Newbie possibly interested in a Sweet 16

John Bee
05-17-2011, 11:28 PM
HI,
I tried looking for this information on the site before posting this question, but couldn't find it, possibly because I am not very good at looking. I have been watching the classified section for Sweet 16s and have seen several that were of interest. I called on two, but they were sold. I would like to know if the 16 came with a V8 Mercruiser and thru prop exhaust, and what my chances are of finding a very clean one if they did. I am possibly interested in replacing my current runabout. I like the styling and the size is perfect. I am on a chain in northern Wisconsin where it is nice and quiet, and I really don't want the racket of a thru hull exhaust system, neither do my neighbors. I am considering building another project boat, but a clean Donzi 16 may just be a good fit.
I am sorry if I am asking a question that has been asked and answered many times.
Thanx,
John.

silverghost
05-18-2011, 12:56 AM
If you want a late-model Donzi~
Have you ever considered a late model Donzi 18 "classic" ?
It's only two foot longer than the sweet 16, basically the same boat design only slightly longer, but your choice of a V-8 Mercruser might be easier to find here.
Many newer model " sweet 16s" are only V-6 powered.
Many late model Donzi 16s & 18s have a silent choice style exhaust system where you can direct the exhaust through your prop under water via a "Y" pipe for quiet running, or out the upper transom outlets with the flip of a control swtch.

The Donzi 16 guys here are going to shoot me~~~
But in my opinion the Donzi "classic 18" is a better boat for your boating area & needs.
I know your general area well.
The 18 will handle rougher water a bit better, and to my opinion is a much better riding boat, will plane better, & is a faster boat in spite of it's slightly longer length.
Look at a Donzi 16 & 18 side-by-side & choose the one you like best .