PDA

View Full Version : 1987 z25

2fast88
05-11-2011, 08:47 PM
hi all,

im a newbie here and had some questions about a 1987 z25 i might be getting. it has been on blocks for about 7 years uncovered so the interior is destroyed, but besides that are there any problem areas with this hull? is the boat worth restoring? the cabin is in pretty good shape, it has an alpha drive with a 454, engine compartment looks like new. the boat is red but faded badly and to top it all off some1 bottom painted it. i did scrape some paint off and found that whoever painted it didnt sand it first so the gelcoat looks pretty nice under the paint. wat would u do lol. thanks

Phil S
05-12-2011, 02:09 AM
Hi and welcome....

I would have a professional marine surveyor inspect it before buying it.

Phil S.

Mckillop
05-12-2011, 11:04 AM
That’s a BIG project. After sitting that long I would imagine the motor and drive will need to be completely gone thru, if not replaced all together for $10k to $15k. Interior is going to be a couple grand; a good cover is another grand at least. And that’s not even getting started on the gel coat. I am by no means an expert as some others on this site are, but I’ve been around boats and specifically Donzi's for long enough to know that unless this particular boat has special meaning to you, I would keep looking. I'm guessing you'll be into that boat for at least $20k doing a lot of the work yourself and that’s not including the purchase price or a trailer. There are some great Donzi's out there in that price range that need next to nothing if you're patient and keep your eyes open.
Just my 2 cents...

KerrLake
05-13-2011, 11:21 AM
The gas tank will need to be replaced and the transom and stringers will most likely need work too.

jdsdls
05-13-2011, 01:51 PM
Sorry also to tell you that a big block and the alpha drive are not a very reliable combination. To much power to the drive

2fast88
05-18-2011, 08:11 PM