PDA

View Full Version : Empty gauge spot



BlakeSullivan
04-12-2011, 09:50 AM
Well Since I installed the new motor and the heads-up display I now have a non woking trim gauge (No longer hooked up) Im just taking advice on what gauge I should put in place of the trim gauge , so far I have the standard set up, oil press, water temp, volts, fuel, tach, speed, keep in mind that I have a 500 efi and need to make sure whatever gauge I put in it must attach to this motor.


Thanks For any Input Blake Sullivan
Ps I know how you guys like pictures so here ya go

mrfixxall
04-12-2011, 10:13 AM
Well Since I installed the new motor and the heads-up display I now have a non woking trim gauge (No longer hooked up) Im just taking advice on what gauge I should put in place of the trim gauge , so far I have the standard set up, oil press, water temp, volts, fuel, tach, speed, keep in mind that I have a 500 efi and need to make sure whatever gauge I put in it must attach to this motor.


Thanks For any Input Blake Sullivan
Ps I know how you guys like pictures so here ya go


water pressure or oil temp..

Walt. H.
04-12-2011, 10:59 AM
Hour meter - Fuel flow scan meter - Depth finder

flying tomato
04-12-2011, 11:01 AM
Blake,
That motor looks sweet. How's she running.

glashole
04-12-2011, 11:30 AM
+1 mechanical water pressure gauge

i like to keep an eye on everything that is going on so i installed one on mine

BlakeSullivan
04-12-2011, 11:33 AM
Blake,
That motor looks sweet. How's she running.
Thanks Its running like a top

Fishermanjm
04-12-2011, 11:58 AM
The garage looks sweet is the boat hanging over water? the pic is a little dark looks like somethin big right next to it also

Just Say N20
04-12-2011, 12:07 PM
Interesting. . . .

Rumblefish
04-12-2011, 12:11 PM
Trim gauge.. kidding

I vote Depth gauge. Nice set up by the way

Fishermanjm
04-12-2011, 12:15 PM
water pressure,,, real nice set up the boat, motor, and the hangar,,, just curious how much r the slip fee's?

BlakeSullivan
04-12-2011, 12:28 PM
Yes the boats are hanging over the water and no slip fee's except what the sate charges each year cause the boat house is behind the casa, I was thinking oil temp since I already have a depth gauge as long as I can adapt one to my motor,

VetteLT193
04-12-2011, 01:11 PM
water pressure or oil temp..

+1. both meaningful. I think I'd take the water pressure first because it is mechanical so easy to hook up and it is very worth while at showing if there are impeller problems.

The Hedgehog
04-12-2011, 01:28 PM
Water Pressure. On boosted boats, I would say oil temp first.

BlakeSullivan
04-12-2011, 01:51 PM
Where on that motor would you install a water pres gauge?

zelatore
04-12-2011, 03:36 PM
Water Pressure. On boosted boats, I would say oil temp first.


I was going to suggest a boost gauge....but it might be a bit over-budget. :wink:

f_inscreenname
04-12-2011, 04:05 PM
AMPs gage
Saved me 2 times in the last 10 years.
Nice to know when your Alt takes a crap.

gcarter
04-12-2011, 06:59 PM
AMPs gage
Saved me 2 times in the last 10 years.
Nice to know when your Alt takes a crap.

The only problem w/an Ammeter is it would take two #4 wires up to the dash to make it work.
:bonk::bonk::bonk::bonk::boggled:

f_inscreenname
04-12-2011, 11:19 PM
The only problem w/an Ammeter is it would take two #4 wires up to the dash to make it work.
:bonk::bonk::bonk::bonk::boggled:

Never though about that in your case. All the boats I rebuild have that already.
There is a way of doing it by finding the wire that goes to the ignition from the Alt and then putting it in-line from there but I would have to see your wiring in your boat.

LuauLounge
04-13-2011, 12:34 PM
How about the Smartcraft SC1000?
One guage, gives you oil temp, pressure, water pressure, water temp, fuel flow, fuel used, hours, etc.
Plus, it also gives you any engine alarms.

BlakeSullivan
04-13-2011, 01:25 PM
I wonder if that would hook up to my engine?

Tony
04-13-2011, 07:57 PM
How about a gauge that tells you how much weight is on board?

:wink:

LuauLounge
04-13-2011, 08:32 PM
I wonder if that would hook up to my engine?

Supposed to work on any MPI Merc. I have a 496 HO and just needed one cable and the gauge. One alarm I couldn't get rid of required the trim sensor to be installed. Wire tied it under the top cowling.