PDA

View Full Version : Need Help

Donzo
02-23-2011, 07:20 AM
I am new to the boating world and can use some advice. I recently purchased a 1992 22 classic. It was in Long Island and has been stretch wrapped for the past seven years. It has a omc 454 king cobra and I am having problems finding parts. I need exhaust manifolds and elbows and am looking for a less expensive way of going besides original omc parts. I would appreciate any help you can give me.

Sweet little 16
02-23-2011, 07:36 AM
the 454 is the white bread of motors, there are tons of after market hi-po parts for them. If it had been a ford 460 omc you'd have alot less choices.

search for stainless marine,eddie marine,cmi in the way of exhausts

the down side is sometimes omc did some strange things with their exhaust either real narrow or real wide coming thru the transom so you might need to do some plumbing.

parts for the drive might be hard to find but volvo made a sx/cobra which should mate to the 454 no problem.

hope that helps ,welcome, good luck post pics

Donzo
02-23-2011, 09:46 AM
Thanks. If you know of anybody that has manifolds please let me know. It hasn't been in the water in a long time so there are a lot of little things I am working on. Thanks again.

gcarter
02-23-2011, 09:52 AM
Setting up a search on eBay is useful for perusing what the market is for exhaust components and other catagories of items needed.
If you're not in a rush, you can find most anything over time.

dsparis
02-23-2011, 10:20 AM
Its a myth that OMC Cobra parts are hard to find or are getting scarce. Go to Doug Russel Marine http://www.dougrussell.com/ . Thet have anything you need at reasonable prices. The service guys are great and will walk you through any problems you have.
King Cobra units are almost bullet proof. I beat mine to death with no problems.

VetteLT193
02-23-2011, 11:09 AM