PDA

View Full Version : neutra salt system question

dicor
02-05-2011, 07:19 AM
Does anyone have first hand experience with the Neutra-salt sytem on their Mercruiser? I will be in salt water 100% of the time and would really like to extend the life of the manifolds, risers etc... . It makes sense to me if it works the way advertised but you know how it is, if it sounds to good to be true it usually isn't. whaddayathink?

Ed Donnelly
02-05-2011, 02:01 PM
For what is is worth, the solution is $40 a gallon..

For such a simple system, it seems really expensive ($250)...Ed

MOP
02-05-2011, 02:42 PM
As most know I have been a salt water mechanic for a goodly portion of my life, these salt products due have merit. But I will give you my personal view on what I have witnessed over the years, what goes bad first are the risers. The risers drain and dry out and rust away, the manifolds follow they last a bit longer staying wet. The block its self lasts a very long time, I had boat in my place that were over 20 years old still going strong. IMO you only need a few minutes using these products to flush the exhaust, first off as soon as the cool hose water hits the thermostat it shuts keeping the stuff pretty much out of the block and heads.

I myself have never used any of these products, a religious good flush job has served my very well for many years.

Phil

DonziJon
02-05-2011, 06:20 PM
The antidote for Salt Water use is a Fresh Water flush after each salt water run. It's that simple. There is NO Magic Snake Oil. SORRY. Nothing. Fresh water flush is all you need.

Closed cooling is definately better, (w/antifreeze), but that's a different story. :bonk: DJ

fogducker III
02-05-2011, 06:50 PM
The antidote for Salt Water use is a Fresh Water flush after each salt water run. It's that simple. There is NO Magic Snake Oil. SORRY. Nothing. Fresh water flush is all you need.

Closed cooling is definately better, (w/antifreeze), but that's a different story. :bonk: DJ