PDA

View Full Version : Chachi Made Me Do It

DonziJon
12-01-2010, 06:37 PM
I've been a model boat builder for well over a decade. I build Museum Quality boat models of the old mahogany classics. Race boats..Runabouts, Long Deck Launches....Sailing Dinghys.. My models are Scratch Built.."Stick By Stick"....to the print.

I have not done any R/C.

The standards for a R/C model are far different than a Static Model that is meant to represent the original boat as it was....to "Fine Scale" ..in a Museum setting.
I will post some pictures of my work in the next few days. I am still learning how to use my new flat bed scanner to copy old Photo Prints.. BUT: I think I have to take some new pictures with the digital camera...:wink:

Posting pictures is not my forte. DJ

CHACHI
12-01-2010, 07:09 PM
DJ, I may of "made you do it" but the rest of the board will definately thank me for it. They will not be dissapointed.

I have seen your work and it is second to none.

I hope you can capture the detail in the photos, like the rivets for the planking.

Now take some photos.

Ken

Phil S
12-01-2010, 08:31 PM
Sounds very cool.....can't wait to see some pics !!

gcarter
12-01-2010, 09:40 PM
I've heard a lot about John's models.
I'd certainly like to see some pictures of them.

HOWARD O
12-02-2010, 11:28 AM
Jon sent me his first scan. Frankly, I was expecting something a little more elaborate! :cool:

HOWARD O
12-02-2010, 11:29 AM
Just kidding, Jon. I am fascinated with true model boats and am anxiously awaiting to see yours too! :yes:

DonziJon
12-02-2010, 02:18 PM
I met with Mark Mason, the owner early on, to photograph the original boat. Without his cooperation the model as seen here would not have been possible.