PDA

View Full Version : Adequate respirator (fiberglass)

scippy
10-26-2010, 11:13 PM
What (half face) respirator is best to use when grinding fiberglass?.....I have several 3M masks that I used when down at ground zero, but that might be ill suited for this type of "powder room grind" .......... Back then we used the half face 3M-6001 Organic vapor bayonet style cartridge..........although, I'm just starting out on the grinder and the little I've done so far, I really can't detect any particles coming through, but that doesn't mean I'm using an adequate mask..........What type should I be using?

OFFSHORE GINGER
10-26-2010, 11:35 PM
What (half face) respirator is best to use when grinding fiberglass?.....I have several 3M masks that I used when down at ground zero, but that might be ill suited for this type of "powder room grind" .......... Back then we used the half face 3M-6001 Organic vapor bayonet style cartridge..........although, I'm just starting out on the grinder and the little I've done so far, I really can't detect any particles coming through, but that doesn't mean I'm using an adequate mask..........What type should I be using? Scippy , i always use a full face mask for the heavy stuff wearing a head sock with a Tyveck suit and gloves taping off any area that might have a chance for any dust to get in such as the sleeves , and neck and when ever i buy a new suit i always go with a xxx large just to give you a little more x-tra room .

22times2
10-27-2010, 03:24 AM
Look into a fresh air supplyed hood it has a full size window for a good view.We use these to paint cars and work great regards.

Tidbart
10-27-2010, 06:43 AM
I would use the same respirator. You don't need the 6000 series filters for grinding, no chemicals. You can get a particulate filter holder for the mask or you can add a particulate filter over the 6001. Filters should be N95 rated.

See the 3M site for more detail.