PDA

View Full Version : New donzi owner prop question

JustinRyan
08-16-2010, 06:43 PM
Hello everyone, I just recently purchaced my first Donzi, a 93 22c with a supercharged 454. The boat runs great I am just new to prop pitch size ect and had a few questions. The boat came with a stiletto 20323 23p prop. the boat has a OMC king cobra outdrive. Right now I am hitting around 70 mph at around 5500 rpm. Is this too small of a prop for this boat? I'm sure I could get 5-10 more MPH with more experiance with trim and tabs.
Thanks in advance for the help .

RedDog
08-16-2010, 06:53 PM
the OMC KC has a gear ratio of 1.43 to 1. At 5500 RPM and assuming a 10% slip (may be a high assumption) you should see 75+. If slip is lower, then you should be closer to 80. Do you have a guess at actual horse power?

If the engine is tuned properly, then you need to trim it up more. And yes, you do need more pitch. I would think max RPMs should be in the 5200 to 5300 range once propped correctly.

BigGrizzly
08-16-2010, 06:54 PM
what super do you have. a stock 454 runs that size prop.

RedDog
08-16-2010, 06:55 PM
PS - Catch 22s Procharged 454 with a Bravo I (and shorty drive) runs low 90s

JustinRyan
08-16-2010, 07:03 PM
The SC is a B&M. I am real new to prop pitches but I felt like the rpms should be lower. previous owner guesstimaded power to be around 500 or so. The boat runs great just seems to spin a little high. what would be the optimum rpm at WOT?

BigGrizzly
08-17-2010, 08:44 AM
Catch22 has a labbed 31 hydromotive and a throttle up CNC 30. I am procharged with OXP28, and a TXP 29/ or #) depending on the day. Speed is not an issue.to be discussed.

JustinRyan
08-17-2010, 11:03 AM
Catch22 has a labbed 31 hydromotive and a throttle up CNC 30. I am procharged with OXP28, and a TXP 29/ or #) depending on the day. Speed is not an issue.to be discussed.

Ok do you think I should be running one of those? Those numbers are the pitch I assume?

BigGrizzly
08-17-2010, 06:32 PM