PDA

View Full Version : rebuilding transom

donzi4life
07-21-2010, 08:59 AM
Hello everyone my name is Adam and I am new to the world of Donzi. About a month ago I bought a project 1970 Donzi 18 classic triple hatch barrel back. Which a super stoked on working on! You are probably going to here from me a lot, this is a different project for me which I am new too. The boat has been totally stripped and ready for the next step. As I was looking at the transom the other day, I saw a little rot on the lower part of it. Also I am thinking of putting a mercruiser outdrive rather than the old tired Volvo, Which leads me to a different size hole. Where do I start with the transom? The boat has a 351w that will be bolted in for the powerplant. What are the steps in rebuilding that transom? How thick does it need to be? What materials are needed? And special angles I need to look for? And how difficult is it to do? Ands so on… thanks guys hope this will work!

BlownCrewCab
07-21-2010, 09:26 AM
If you like speed the Merc drive is a good choice (volvos usually top out around the mid 60's mph). the transom should be 2 pieces of 3/4" plywood thick with a layer of glass between the layers of ply. if you do replace the wood cut the bottom of it short so it doesn't cover the drain plug hole. thats the #1 spot for water intrusion.

are you sure yours is a tripple hatch? I didn't think they made them in the 70's. Got any pictures?

Edit... Well, if it's a Barrel back I think it's a mid 60's boat.

donzi4life
07-21-2010, 02:06 PM
is this a hard project to accomplish? meaning the ripping out stage and making sure it is right!

CAPTBEACH
07-21-2010, 02:09 PM
Donzi4life,

Here are a link to the boat I'm finishing now...

Spring paint...

http://www.classicseacraft.com/forum/showflat.php?Cat=&Number=81550&page=0&view=collapsed&sb=5&o=&fpart=1&vc=1