PDA

View Full Version : Needs Advise

LiquidLunch
06-13-2010, 09:38 PM
Hello all Im a newbie here, and am about to shoot myself in the foot asking a few (probably dumb) questions.

I own a Early 90s' F18 I purchaced in 2005 and absolutly love this vessel, I lived in South florida and was able to fish and dive from it off shore more then where I live now, in North Florida. I sold the Motor on it a year ago and have been dry storing the hull and trailer. Was contimplating on selling but this boat is not worth what I belive it should be.

My questions are.

If I restore the boat and repower will the value increase. If so what should be my major concentrations in restoration?

I would like to install a transom bracket with addition boyancy, Has anyone done this to this boat? If so, did it help your performance at all ?

Dont get me wrong this is one of the nicest rides I have ever owned, But doesnt seem logical to me to have an offshore fishing vessel in an area that is mostly flats, and the closest reef being 30 miles offshore. It make a great pleasure cruiser and is quite comfy with the whole family. Im just unsure if it (or any boat for that matter) is worth sinking the cash into to reselll in the future.

Again sory this is so vague, but as you can probably tell im very torn over the subject if it should stay or go. Just looking for some input, eventhough biased it may be.:nilly:

Planetwarmer
06-13-2010, 10:06 PM
If you are looking to recoup the money you put into this boat, you will most likely not even come close.

You just need to decide if you want to keep that particular boat, or sell what you have and pour the money you would have used to restore your current boat into a new boat.

Decide what will work best for you, and what you can afford.

Cuda
06-14-2010, 07:36 AM
You will NEVER get your money out. Only restore a boat because you love it, not for monetary gain.

z33donzi
06-14-2010, 07:45 AM