PDA

View Full Version : Why does it "click" instead of start?

Planetwarmer
05-23-2010, 10:56 PM
I pulled the starter off and had it tested. It tested good. I have to turn the key 20 to 30 times (hearing the solenoid clicking) before the starter turns over.

Any ideas? Could it be a ground? All new wires going to the starter.:confused::confused::confused::confused::c onfused::confused::confused::confused::confused::c onfused::confused::confused::confused::confused::c onfused::confused::confused::confused::confused::c onfused::confused::confused::confused::confused::c onfused::confused:

Ive been battling this problem for 2 years now! It seems to be getting steadily worse.

ACE51
05-23-2010, 11:29 PM
we had a similar problem like this in our ski boat. We ended up replacing the key/switch mechanism and it worked fine after that, try hot wiring your key system to see if it works consistently then you can get a new key switch, we didn't even get a marine one and it has been working OK then again it doesn't get wet that often.

maddad
05-23-2010, 11:37 PM
Most electrical problems are a bad ground, this sounds like a classic example.

fogducker III
05-24-2010, 12:18 AM
I also bet a bad ground, check ALL your grounds, especially at the block.

PS. Tight fit does not mean a good ground, take the connection off, wire brush and re-connect.......I had the same gremlin I chased for months.............:wink:

CHACHI
05-24-2010, 05:52 AM
I have had the same problem. There was a slave solenoid on my 454 MPI that was the culprit.

Slave was a easy fix, sits on top of the motor.

Ken

Cuda
05-24-2010, 06:02 AM
Another vote for a bad ground.

CaribouLou
05-24-2010, 07:09 AM
Our 92 18c did this.... Bad ground.

MOP
05-24-2010, 07:38 AM
I am betting on the slave solenoid, that is "very" common, have someone else turn the key I bet the click is in the solenoid at the front of the engine by the breaker!

Pismo
05-24-2010, 01:35 PM
Solenoid(s). Jump them to see which it is.

MOP