PDA

View Full Version : hydraulic steering

Ralph Savarese
05-12-2010, 06:55 PM
Thinking about getting rid of the old BIG T helm and going to a hydraulic assist unit or full hydraulic like sea star. Volvo 270 set up any suggestions would like to keep the same helm foot print if possible
Bad torque steer to the right want to make the boat more comfortable to drive
Thanks Ralph

mrfixxall
05-12-2010, 08:09 PM
ive been fighting the same issue for over 20 yrs,mabe thats why i have popeye fore arms:)

Ralph Savarese
05-12-2010, 08:30 PM
So what is the answer? Wait for the cable to break and die!

thehow33
05-12-2010, 09:41 PM
maybe thats why i have popeye fore arms:)

I'm pretty sure its from something else:bighug::bighug::bighug:

maddad
05-13-2010, 05:59 AM
Ralph, I used a seastar helm and hynautic cylinder to get rid of the cable set up. The mount for the cylinder I made from 2"x2" alum. el and it bolts to the bell housing. Pretty simple and cheap, and made a huge differance in driving comfort. I had a plan to put the helm back into the teleflex bezel, but haven't done it yet.

maddad
05-13-2010, 06:02 AM
Not this! Might take out the boat running next to you.

Tborisch
05-13-2010, 07:09 AM
I have the hydraulic helm seastar steering from the factory. What does everybody think about it?

I like it.... What speed is this setup good too?

Don't mean to hijack your thread, thought it is applicable :)

Tom

MOP
05-13-2010, 07:41 AM