PDA

View Full Version : 6-71s versus 6-92s

handfulz28
03-24-2010, 08:40 PM
I know there's a lot of reading out there but looking for some quick insight on the differences. I'm seeing instances of the same brand/length listing both engines, with the 92 in the early '80s and the 71 in the mid-later '80s. I think they're all TIs.

BlownCrewCab
03-24-2010, 08:42 PM
I Bet Buiz Knows, He's kinda keen on that stuff:yes:

BUIZILLA
03-24-2010, 08:48 PM
what is it you want to know?

handfulz28
03-24-2010, 09:00 PM
AT this point I'm a complete novice. Is there a preference for either, why? I'm wondering why a manufacturer would put both engines in the same hull. is it something as simple and analogous as a 305 vs 350? Or more like SBC vs BBC? Or perhaps "early" SBC vs Vortec SBC?

Is one easier to get parts for and/or service?

In the long run, would the -92 be less efficient than a -71? Remember, same hull so a reasonable comparison. And FWIW, long runs and top speed aren't main concern; expect to be more of a canal cruiser and 2-3kts on top isn't worth 20% more fuel burn across the range (if that would be the case).

Bottom line, efficiency and maintenance.

Thanks Jim.

BUIZILLA
03-24-2010, 09:21 PM
71 inches per hole vs 92 inches per hole = 30% difference everywhere...

unless your comparing a 6-92 against a 8-71

or an 8-92 vs a 6-71

or....

what hull?

gcarter
03-24-2010, 09:27 PM
I always wondered why they offered a 24V-71 when the same power is available w/so many fewer moving parts and shorter package........and a much shorter crankshaft!

BUIZILLA
03-24-2010, 09:29 PM
a whaaaattttt????

24??

uh

no

The Hedgehog
03-24-2010, 10:54 PM
I am partial to the 71 series because I am now in the club.

Buizilla is the guy to know. Listen to him. He won't steer you wrong. That goes the same for the whole hull/engine combo.

I called the master when I was kicking around a few ideas. I have YET to hear that I don't have a great combo.

gcarter
03-25-2010, 05:41 AM