PDA

View Full Version : Donzi 22 GT with Whipple Charger

Michi Besler
01-11-2010, 04:05 PM
Hello everybody
since a year I am the proud owner of a Donzi 22 GT with a 496 HO. Now this winter I have purchased a Whipple charger kit, a Bravo 1 XR drive ans ITS Transom for my baby.
Who has got experience with with a whipple charged 496 HO in a 22 classic concerning water cooling performancs! Do I need to replace the regular waterpump by a double stage one (like Hardin), or is the performance of the original pump large enough to cool the charger as well?
I am gratefull for any advise because I am quite new to power boating.
Thanks a lot in advance from Hamburg/Germany
Michi Besler

MOP
01-11-2010, 04:36 PM
Randy (Big Griz) will have some good input, but basically we have more water then we can handle. Many of our rigs have had to add pressure relief valves to get rid of the excess, the system pressure builds as speed increases that has caused many a head gasket leak.

Phil

mrfixxall
01-11-2010, 04:52 PM
Hello everybody
since a year I am the proud owner of a Donzi 22 GT with a 496 HO. Now this winter I have purchased a Whipple charger kit, a Bravo 1 XR drive ans ITS Transom for my baby.
Who has got experience with with a whipple charged 496 HO in a 22 classic concerning water cooling performancs! Do I need to replace the regular waterpump by a double stage one (like Hardin), or is the performance of the original pump large enough to cool the charger as well?
I am gratefull for any advise because I am quite new to power boating.
Thanks a lot in advance from Hamburg/Germany
Michi Besler