PDA

View Full Version : Ss prop cracks ?

silverghost
01-07-2010, 12:24 PM
Several years ago I put a new OJ inboard/V-Drive 4 blade cupped Stainless Steel prop on my BB 454 powered inboard ski boat.
Out of the box this prop looked like a polished jewel .
My boat stays in the salt water for 5 months so I also used two camp shaft zinks.
The prop ran much smoother than the typical three blade bronze or NiBrAl props I had been using for many years..
Never had any cracks in these.
Low speed docking was also improved with the 4 blades.
When I pulled the boat at the end of the season i popped-off the prop with a puller and found 8 small cracks on the blade's leading edges.
Most were 1/4"or less; but one was 1/2" long near the center hub.
I called OJ & they told me to return it with my invoice.
Weeks later I received a new prop with no note from OJ.
This year I installed the new prop..
At the end of this season I found the same type of cracks had developed on the second prop.
What would have caused these cracks ?
Has anyone had any crack issues with Stainless Steel props, on I/O or Inboard/V-drives ?

I have one crack on this second prop that is 3/4" long near the center hub.
I am glad I did not throw a blade into the bottom of my hull ! I had a friend that had this happen with a stainless steel CVP prop on his Masercraft and it took a big chunk out of the bottom of his hull
Do you think these cracks are stress or casting related?
Any ideas ?
Thank's

MOP
01-07-2010, 01:37 PM
Two in a row the prop is of poor quality. I would see if you can atleast get a partial refund and go find another prop.

silverghost
01-07-2010, 02:03 PM
I have to agree with you on the OJ props quality~
OJ inboard props usually have a good reputation among Ski-Boat owners !
Mastercraft, Malibu, Tige', and others use OJ as OEM props.
This prop cost $450+
The CVP (Central Valley Propeller) SS Prop I also talked about was made in Mexico & I believe they went out of business because of SS prop failures!