PDA

View Full Version : Question about angled trim tabs

Conquistador_del_mar
10-25-2009, 02:18 AM
What is the correct way to mount trim tabs that have the angled tabs? Angle out or in on a deep V hull and why? I can see a case for both ways, but I thought I would get some opinions. Thanks in advance, Bill

gcarter
10-25-2009, 06:00 AM
I would guess (because I have no personal experience) the angles go inboard for any possible interferience between tab edge and drive, drive hydrdynamics, etc.
It also put the maximum area of the tab outboard where it's most effective.
But I'd like to hear what Michael has to say.....

mrfixxall
10-25-2009, 12:25 PM
What is the correct way to mount trim tabs that have the angled tabs? Angle out or in on a deep V hull and why? I can see a case for both ways, but I thought I would get some opinions. Thanks in advance, Bill

With the cut in towards the drives for clearance..In other words,in the pic swap left to right and thats how you install them..

When the tabs are all the way down thats when they might come in contact with the drives..

BigGrizzly
10-25-2009, 12:59 PM
The above are the correct answers.

Ed Donnelly
10-25-2009, 04:23 PM
The K-planes on my Criterion are as above posts state.
Allows full drive movement when the planes are down...Ed

Planetwarmer
10-25-2009, 04:26 PM
flipem and boltem

As they are in the pic, it is like the shoes are on the wrong feet. (I have a 3 year old daughter with the same problem)

Conquistador_del_mar
10-26-2009, 12:57 PM
Thanks for the advice guys. I will be mounting as many as 2 sets of them in the future and I wasn't sure which way to go with them. Bill

Planetwarmer
10-26-2009, 01:08 PM
Hopefully, not all on the same boat!

Conquistador_del_mar
10-26-2009, 01:42 PM
Hopefully, not all on the same boat!

Why not? Is that a problem?

I bought a set for my Magnum project boat and I am about to get a different set of tabs for the 36' Cigarette - both sets are angled type tabs. Bill

Planetwarmer