PDA

View Full Version : Electric over hydraulic brakes...

gcarter
09-22-2009, 01:46 PM
Can someone give me some insight into electric over hydraulic disk trailer brakes?
Also any discussion would be welcome.
Websites?

BlownCrewCab
09-22-2009, 01:55 PM
If it's gonna be a big Load on the trailer and a Short wheelbase vehicle I Like electric brakes, Just for the fact if it starts to sway you can reach down and slide the Manual Part of the controler and apply the trailer Brakes without the Vehicle Brakes to Stop the swaying. Otherwise the only way to stop a good sway is to Mash the Gas pedal, and thats not always cool. Other than that I have no preferance.

gcarter
09-22-2009, 01:59 PM
That sounds like a good reason for having them, but how do they work?
I have no experience w/them.

Trueser
09-22-2009, 02:15 PM
I was told the elec don't hold up on Boat trailers.

Sweet Cheekz
09-22-2009, 03:11 PM
I have had them on two bigger boats and they were fabulous I could stop my truck on a dime with the trailer brakes only. Great for saving truck brakes. Only drawbacks were expense and the brains failed a few times over the years Don't need them for a 22 thats for sure, but great for a big boat
Parnell

BigGrizzly
09-22-2009, 03:18 PM
I am assuming you mean electric hydraulic breaks not just electric brakes. The electro hydraulic are top drawer I am saving for the controller. My kodiacs art the best thing since sliced bread, the assist would be awesome

roadtrip se
09-22-2009, 03:19 PM
on the Manning tandem under the Formula SS. It is a big load, close to 12K, and going down the grades around Cumberland I really like them. You can literally control stop the entire rig on a significant grade without tapping the pedals in the truck. I like the control. No surge, just nice, even stopping power.