PDA

View Full Version : Cougar 22 (Donzi 22 C)

AR-Cougar
09-17-2009, 05:09 PM
Hi everyone.

I'm new to Donzi.

Had a short ride in a 22 C…. she blew my mind.:nilly:

There are only four original 22 C down here in Argentina, none of which are on sale (I wonder why).

Nevertheless, last week I found/bought a “Cougar” built basis a 1990's Donzi 22 C original mold..
Have a 260 HP Mercruiser 5.0 MPI / Alfa One package. She's running 60 MPH; also have a very big smile now.

While I’m anxiously waiting for the weekend to start, I’ve been reading the forums (grate info btw!) and have some questions for you:

1) Flaps:
Don’t have.
Haven’t had much time for testing yet but so far the boat rides steady and balanced. Trim seams to make the trick.

See most 22 C have flaps. Is there a real advantage?

2) Fuel consumption:
Yet to be established. Previous owner mentioned:
aprox 11/12 GPH @ 4.6/5.000 RPM
aprox 7/8 GPH @ 3.000 RPM.

Closest info I found: http://www.mercurymarine.com/look_deeper/boat_house_bulletin.php?ID=15&SortBy=Title&Section=mercruiserChecks&mercV8=15&merc260300=17

Any idea of what I should expect?

3) Exhaust covers:
Saw many 22 C / other Donzi models with and w/o.
My mechanic recommended placing covers to protect engine from water on sudden stop/reverse.

What’s the opinion here?

Here are some pics of my Cougar.

Thanks,
Pedro

joseph m. hahnl
09-17-2009, 05:28 PM
Hi everyone.

I'm new to Donzi.

Had a short ride in a 22 C…. she blew my mind.:nilly:

There are only four original 22 C down here in Argentina, none of which are on sale (I wonder why).

Nevertheless, last week I found/bought a “Cougar” built basis a 1990's Donzi 22 C original mold..
Have a 260 HP Mercruiser 5.0 MPI / Alfa One package. She's running 60 MPH; also have a very big smile now.

While I’m anxiously waiting for the weekend to start, I’ve been reading the forums (grate info btw!) and have some questions for you:

1) Flaps:
Don’t have.