PDA

View Full Version : First Donzi, looking for advice

Top-Gun
09-09-2009, 09:01 PM
Hello,

I'm looking to purchase my first Donzi, specifically an 18 Classic.

I'd really appreciate any advice that could help me find the right boat. Are there any particular years to look for? Anything to be careful of or watch out for when looking at used 18's? Any specific problem areas on these hulls?

I'm somewhat new to boats, but have been in the car hobby for a number of years. My prime concern is finding a good solid hull, I've built a number of performance small block chevys in the past so I'm at least knowledgeable in that area. Don't know much about outdrives and marine specific hardware though.

Also, I notice many 18 classics have the grab rail around the cockpit as opposed to the windshield (which I far prefer). Is it easy to retrofit a windshield to a boat originally equipped with a grab rail? Are windshields available?

Thanks very much.

Donzi Vol
09-09-2009, 09:16 PM
Top-Gun,

Welcome to the board and welcome to the wonderful world of Donzi's! An 18 Classic is a good choice. Of course, I am kind of partial since I just purchased one myself and have been helping in a restoration on another one for a while now.

But as for your situation, I would go for something a little older and do what you want with the motor. There are many different motor combos out there, but if you have the skill to build or rebuild your own, you'd probably be pretty happy doing that.

If you're looking for a "turn key" boat to just drop in the water and go, then I would just click on the "donzi's for sale" section and give those a look. There are several really good boats on there, and some of them are owned by members so it would be easy to get ahold of them.