PDA

View Full Version : chine, out of control feeling, 22C

Bamboo Loui
09-03-2009, 06:21 PM
Hi guys, I wrote in a couple of threads that were not related to performance that I felt a little -- OK-- alot- out of control with my 05 22C 496/425 classic. I am a newbie to say the least, but I received a couple of suggestions from Road trip se (Todd ) and from Scot, encouragement from Carl C. The suggestions were to try a 4 blade prop--- or another prop than what I had.
Here were my symptons---- at any speed or rpm, I had to use the tabs alot -- and I mean alot-to keep her from porposing--- and at WOT she would dance in a way that made me feel totally out of control. I was bouncing from the the throttle to the trim to the tabs while watching where I was going-- everything was happening too fast for me to keep her under control.
At 5150rpm I was indicating on the Livorsi speedo 73 mph. But this was totally white knuckles--- and any rider was holding on to anything they could hold to. she as dancing like crazy.

I talked with the previous owner and he said the boat was extremely tab sensitive-- Todd had ridden in the boat and confirmed the previous owner was constantly working the tabs. Today I took her out with the new prop-- I started with the tabs all the way up. As I accelerated I knew I had to adjust the tab(s) to adjust for my weight or the tork of the engine-- just a couple of taps on the tab button-- she cruised at 30-40- 50 with very gentle porpoising- almost soothing--
I could get rid of the porpoising with a little throttle or change in the trim.