PDA

View Full Version : Me, The Moon, 40 years, and other things...

gcarter
07-16-2009, 01:18 PM
It's really hard to imagine it's been 40 years!
Wow! :shocking:
Just a few years before that, I was a young mechanical designer wanting to make my own imprint on the Apollo Program. I grew up in Houston and of course the decision to build the Manned Spacecraft Center there was "A Big Deal" to Texas, Texans, and Houstonians in particular.
I was able to attend the speech JFK gave at Rice Stadium where he declared we would go to the Moon and return during the next decade. What a monumental statement that was. I remember him stating how an ICBM could be launched several thousand miles away and land between the 40 yard lines there in that stadium. I was mesmurized. I guess my mouth was probably hanging open.
After the Center was built I was able to land a job w/Link Systems concerning the Apollo and Lunar Module flight simulaters.
Later I worked for LTV Aerospace w/a group that was involved in designing the hand tools used on the Lunar surface. Also we designed a lot of the astronaut hardware where bits and pieces had to be attached to space suits.
I thought I'd died and gone to Heaven.
I was excited to go to work everyday.
Then in '68, I was hired to move here to Florida and work for Bendix Launch Support Div. Bendix's primary responsibility was providing, maintaining, and operating most all the cryogenic resources including fueling the Saturn 5 boosters and the spacecraft.
I think I still have my "Hazardous Fuels" class certificate somewhere. I learned that some hypergolic fuels, such as Nitrogen Tetroxide, was so deadly that if there was 1 ppm (I think) in the air, you'd literally drown in a very short period of time. A sure fire way to tell if N.T. was present was it smelled like swamp........of course all these fuels were stored in the middle of the wildlife preserve that makes up the Space Center.
Go figure.