PDA

View Full Version : Input shaft housing and bearings.

RAPID TRANSIT
06-19-2009, 08:50 AM
Gentlemen i have a Volvo 280 drive coupled to a sbc. I am not a boat mechanic but i do know my way around a tool box. I seem to have destroyed the flex plate attached to the flywheel and possibly the bell housing that contained the bearings the input shaft passes through to the outdrive. This leaves me with some questions.

1. Is the flex plate an automotive or marine part? I think marine.
2. Is the inner bell housing removable from the outer transom shield?
It looks like two seperate pieces to me.
3. Can I still get a housing if necessary?
4. Does anyone have an exploded view of what this should look like?
5. What lubriciates these bearings? The gentleman who sold me the
boat said the housing should contain an oil bath for the bearings. The local volvo boat mechanic said it should be packed with grease?

penbroke
06-19-2009, 09:30 AM
Bummer Dude...

1) Marine. Not hard to find but I don't have the info in front of me.
2) Nope. Sorry...
3) Don't know about new but you should have no problem finding a used one. I think f_inscreenname here may have one...
4) Poke around here (http://www.marinepartsexpress.com/vp_sch_fs.html).
5) Should be a grease fitting I think...

EDIT: 2) Yes, but the engine has to come out. I mis-read the question and thought you meant was it removable from the outside of the boat...

Frank

mrfixxall
06-19-2009, 09:41 AM
Gentlemen i have a Volvo 280 drive coupled to a sbc. I am not a boat mechanic but i do know my way around a tool box. I seem to have destroyed the flex plate attached to the flywheel and possibly the bell housing that contained the bearings the input shaft passes through to the outdrive. This leaves me with some questions.

1. Is the flex plate an automotive or marine part? I think marine.
2. Is the inner bell housing removable from the outer transom shield?
It looks like two seperate pieces to me.