PDA

View Full Version : external steering

Zinger
06-01-2009, 11:18 PM
I'm new to my dual ram extenal steering on my 22 classic and tring to get the steering wheel straigth but it always changing with the current. I go out of the harbor and the wheel is one way coming back its in a different postion is this normal ? Also without the engine running I can push the drive a little each way and see the ram cylinders move. While out with the boat the steering is fine just not sure if these things are normal. :pimp::drive:please

SilverBack
06-01-2009, 11:28 PM
I'm new to my dual ram extenal steering on my 22 classic and tring to get the steering wheel straigth but it always changing with the current. I go out of the harbor and the wheel is one way coming back its in a different postion is this normal ? Also without the engine running I can push the drive a little each way and see the ram cylinders move. While out with the boat the steering is fine just not sure if these things are normal. :pimp::drive:please

I think that it is normal for the wheel to do this. My steering wheel moves also. My drive will not budge at all without moving the steering wheel however. I think there may be some air in your line or something. I am not sure but I would not think that yours should move.

zelatore
06-02-2009, 12:12 AM
hmmm...I've only had my dual-ram on the boat since this winter, but I'm pretty sure the wheel returns to the same place each time. I know the single ram systems don't, but I thought all the duals did (?).

if you can move the drive around, combined with the wheel changing on you, I'm going to say bleed it some more. I know when I bled mine after the initial installation it took fooooorrrrrreeeeevverrrr.

Mr X
06-02-2009, 05:21 AM
100% normal, the wheel does not return to the same place.

hot shot
06-02-2009, 07:28 AM
you should not be able to move the drive... keep on bleeding it till it quit's
like mr x sais the wheel will always change

MOP
06-02-2009, 07:52 AM